Looks like I’ll be working on my sisters computer again.  It is her birthday after all.  Someday soon, I’m sure she’ll be older than me.  Her computer just can’t seem to retain the contents of her CMOS ram.  I’m pretty sure she has a bad lithium battery.  I just hope it isn’t one of those soldered in jobs.  The symptoms were the failure of her floppy disk drive on boot up (she doesn’t have one) and the fact that her sound card stopped working.  The sound card conflicts with the built in sound on her mother board, so that has to be disabled.  I fix it up, she takes it home, and it fails again the same way.  I think it needs to be turned off for a while before the CMOS looses it’s mind.  That may have to be part of my “burn in” for testing fixes.

About whatisblivit

I have been working with computers since the Commodore Vic20. I've been building PC's since about 1989. I received my Electrical Engineering degree in 1986. I have been building and maintaining my extended families computers since about 1996.
This entry was posted in Sparks Nevada computer repair and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. Duncan Winn says:

    Yes, and I got it working too. She told me that the problem she was having went away….good. Too bad I can’t make any money off of this job.

Leave a Reply

