More spreading the word.

Well, the one extended care facility I visited didn’t work out very well.  First, I went to the wrong place so they directed me down the street.  The receptionist was nice, but she didn’t give me any hope of teaching any computer classes there.  As a matter of fact, she pointed out the “no soliciting” sign on the front door of the place.   I will teach another computer class at JOIN on Monday (Job Opportunities In Nevada, JOIN).  Unfortunately, that is all volunteer work and doesn’t help me pay the bills.  I probably gave out about 40 business cards at the farmers market last night, but I don’t know if it will do me any good.  One guy down there had a real estate booth and told me I should go around to all the independent real estate people to see if they needed any computer help.  Sounds like a good idea.  I finally finished this one computer I was working on.  I thought I had it done, but the mouse stopped working.  I ended up having to do a Win XP repair to get it to start working again.  That’s when I got this problem:

I’m trying to “repair” windows xp  by booting it from the “Service Pack 3″ disk. I get to partway through and get the ” file asms needed” message.

After looking around on the Internet using the error message that windows was giving me as a search term, I found a fix on web site called http://www.computing.net  I tried this fix:

When the message appears, type: Shift+F10 to enter a command session.

Type: regedit.exe at the prompt.

Highlight the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE entry.

Go to the File menu and choose Load Hive.

Then, load %Windir%\System32\Config\System.sav
Give it a short name that you will remember, like “Test”.

Then, find this key:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Test\ControlSet1\Control\Class\{4D36E965-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}

Delete UPPERFILTERS and LOWERFILTERS keys.

Do the same for ControlSet2 and any other numbered ControlSet keys you see.

Exit regedit.”

I was lucky and only had one ControlSet1.  Once I did this, I was able to finish the repair.  That is when I found that an illegal copy of windows was installed. This is for another post though.

About whatisblivit

I have been working with computers since the Commodore Vic20. I've been building PC's since about 1989. I received my Electrical Engineering degree in 1986. I have been building and maintaining my extended families computers since about 1996.
This entry was posted in Sparks Nevada computer repair, Using online resources and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

