My efforts to import address books

I spent quite a while today trying to import my contacts from Thunderbird to my Hotmail account ( blivit@hotmail.com ).  The hotmail account claimed to be able to import comma delimited files so I exported the address book from Thunderbird as a comma delimited file and as an LDIF file.  Every time I attempted to import either file format to my hotmail account, I ended up with everybody’s name, and no email addresses.  I went to my Linkedin account                               ( http://www.linkedin.com/in/duncanwinn ) and the same thing happened when I attempted to import the comma delimited file.

Linked in told me it could also use a vcf file to import from and I thought I could export my address book as a vcard (vcf format) from Thunderbird.  I went to my Thunderbird program and didn’t see how this was possible.  Then I remembered that I had seen it as an option that was available in Thunderbird when I was running it in Ubuntu Linux.  I had been running Thunderbird under Windows 7 because I’m trying to get more experience with Windows 7.  I booted my computer up under Ubuntu, ran the Thunderbird program, and there it was.  After exporting the address book using vcard format (vcf), I was able to import it to my Linkedin account.  After importing it into my Linkedin account, I was able to import it from Linked in to my hotmail account.  After importing it to my hotmail account, I was able to import it to Facebook.

Aren’t computers fun!!!

About whatisblivit

I have been working with computers since the Commodore Vic20. I've been building PC's since about 1989. I received my Electrical Engineering degree in 1986. I have been building and maintaining my extended families computers since about 1996.
This entry was posted in Sparks Nevada computer repair, Using online resources and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

