Why am I not surprised.

One of the first people to contact me as a result of my new “computer presence” seems somewhat fishy (which reminds me, I just bought some of that wonderful Chilean Sea Bass for dinner tonight).  First, he told me that he had a contract for fixing an undefined number of laptop computers but he was in Hawaii and he needed someone to fix them for him.  There was some misuse of common English that kind of made me nervous. I told him that I didn’t think I could do more than 3 computers at a time, then he wanted a bid on fixing 5 laptops and putting lots of software on them.  I asked him if he had valid licensed software and he assured me that he did.  I quoted him a price and the latest email he sent me read like this:

“Thanks for the reply, I am okay with the price,and i have all the necessary software and licenses needed for the service installations, So i will want you to send me your full names and address immediately so that i can direct the project manager to prepare a check in your name for payment immediately.Please send me your full names,address and phone number immediately.”

First, more misuse of English, then a promise to cut me a check immediately.  The crazy thing is, if he read my Facebook entries, he would already have my “full names and address”.  I don’t really believe that I will be getting any money out of this guy, but who knows.  I’ve been known to carry on email conversations with people from Nigeria who have vast sums of money that they are just trying to give away. (come to think of it, I’ve never made any money off of that either)….

The big problem with my business is that it’s just too easy to set up a computer repair service and it looks like everyone is doing it.  Hopefully if I get some business then I can get some good word of mouth advertising out there.  I’ve got to get signs for the side of my car and maybe some t-shirts made up.  There is some local guy that has signs up that say “Laptop Repair” and a phone number.  I wonder if he gets any hits?

I’m going to teach my computer class at Job connect again tomorrow.  There’s no money in it, but I am giving back to the community.

About whatisblivit

I have been working with computers since the Commodore Vic20. I've been building PC's since about 1989. I received my Electrical Engineering degree in 1986. I have been building and maintaining my extended families computers since about 1996.
This entry was posted in Sparks Nevada computer repair, Using online resources and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why am I not surprised.

  1. Kizzy says:

    I think it’s great your teaching. I think your very good at it 🙂

Leave a Reply

