Scams!

A few days ago, I did a post on a scam attempt that someone was trying to perpetrate against me.  I found out how the scam works (maybe).  I got an email with this text in it that started out the whole deal…

“I saw your advert on craigslist about your ability to repair laptopsand computers.I want to know if you are capable of doing this inlarge quantities.”

I got an email (supposedly from another person) with the exact same wording.  The last time, I took the guy seriously until he told me that he was going to cut me a check right away (before I even worked on one computer).

This statment set off alarm bells in my head so I asked him “where are you again?”.  I havn’t heard anything else from this “person”.

From what I have heard, the way this works is that they send you a casheirs check that you are supposed to deposit in your bank.  They contact you and tell you that the check was written for the wrong amount, and you’re supposed to send them your own check to make up the difference.  After a few days, the original check bounces and you’re out any money you sent them.

I don’t think I’ll be doing any of that.

About whatisblivit

I have been working with computers since the Commodore Vic20. I've been building PC's since about 1989. I received my Electrical Engineering degree in 1986. I have been building and maintaining my extended families computers since about 1996.
This entry was posted in Help! I'm being Robbed!, Running a home business, Sparks Nevada computer repair and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Scams!

  1. Dawn says:

    This is very informative. Thank you!

  2. Kizzy says:

    Wow, this is a tricky one. I can actually see someone falling for this one. Unlike the typical inheritance type scams…

Leave a Reply

