Teaching computers in Reno

On Wednesday, I taught the Job Connect  class on beginning computer literacy.  This class was taught in Reno at the Reno Town Mall site.  It’s a bit smaller than the Sparks facility.  I only had one helper this time (Thanks Michele!) so it was a bit harder than last time when the number of helpers was the same as the number of students.  We had seven students and only a couple who may have benifited from a higher level class.
The projector kept going off.  I was never able to correct the projector problem without pulling the plug on the thing completely.  This happened three times and it did make a difficult situation worse.

One of the gentlemen in my class had real difficulties handling the mouse.  He kept turning it from the up and down position when he was moving it.  You always want to let the student do the work, but it was challanging for me to watch as the pointer moved closer and closer to where he wanted it to be without actually getting to it. (Come on…  Closer…. Closer…. Argh!!!).  My friend Paul told me that he was probably trying to drive the mouse like it was a car.  This explaination makes sense, and if I had been able to clue in on it, maybe I could have been more effective at helping him.

We were setting up email accounts for everyone.  We finally got everybody up on their email account except one.  We couldn’t get the page to complete.  It was at the point where you enter the messed up text (non-computer readable) that prevents computer bots from taking all of the yahoo email addresses and the page would not allow us to finish.  I took over the computer, and tried to enter all of the information myself, but at that point, the page (or the browser) was hopelessly confused.  I ended up completing the page on my computer.  This didn’t help the student much, but I was out of time.

About whatisblivit

I have been working with computers since the Commodore Vic20. I've been building PC's since about 1989. I received my Electrical Engineering degree in 1986. I have been building and maintaining my extended families computers since about 1996.
This entry was posted in Running a home business, Sparks Nevada computer repair and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

