How to break your computer

I have a dual boot system that can either boot up Windows 7, or Ubuntu Linux.  I decided to upgrade the hard drives on both Linux and Windows.  I put in a 250 GB drive for the Windows side and a 500 GB drive for the Linux side.  I already had the drive I replaced (a 400 GB IDE drive) partitioned with half going to Linux and half going to a shared drive between the Linux install and the Windows 7 install.  When I copied the partitions, I was left with unused space in both drives.  I had the computer booted up in Windows 7 and I decided to combine the unused space on the Linux drive with the partition that had my original “shared” drive.  In the control panel I found under Computer Management a subheading of “Disk Management”.  I found a command called “Extend Volume” that seemed like just the ticket.  I had already tried to install my old copy of Partition Magic and it told me that it had “known compatibility” issues with windows 7.  I used the Extend Volume command on the NTFS partition and it appeared to work.  Unfortunately, the Linux distribution used something called EXT4 for a partition format.  Windows didn’t recognize it, and it destroyed the data on the whole hard disk.  Fortunately, I had backed up my important data before I ever started on this mission, and I didn’t lose anything important except more of my life.  Let that be a lesson to you.  Always back up your data before embarking on a disk resizing expedition.

About whatisblivit

I have been working with computers since the Commodore Vic20. I've been building PC's since about 1989. I received my Electrical Engineering degree in 1986. I have been building and maintaining my extended families computers since about 1996.
This entry was posted in Sparks Nevada computer repair, Using online resources and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to break your computer

  1. Kiziah says:

    Good advice dad 🙂

Leave a Reply

