Computer Repair Client

I got another client yesterday for the computer repair portion of my business.  The repair part was fairly straight forward.  The computer had 13 Trojans on it (MS Word demands that Trojan be capitalized since I must be talking about the sports team).  These Trojans were preventing my client from going on the internet.  I removed the Trojans and the internet connection started working.  It worked with Firefox, but I never did see it working with Internet Explorer.  He told me that it never HAS worked with Internet Explorer and that it was just a feature(?) of his ISP.  I didn’t feel very good about that but my time there was limited.  I also installed a new anti-virus anti-malware program, redid his home page, made an easy link to his email account on Firefox, and set up and installed his printer/scanner/fax machine.  It all went OK, but I still think his computer is running slower than it should be.  The fact that it won’t go on the internet using IE is vexing, and I feel that a more thorough hardware test is in order.  Maybe I’ll just have to go over there and do it for no charge.  I hate walking away from a job with that feeling that something just isn’t right.  What I really felt like doing was a complete re-installation of Windows, but we all know what a pain that can turn out to be. (Comments?  Suggestions? Taunts?)

About whatisblivit

I have been working with computers since the Commodore Vic20. I've been building PC's since about 1989. I received my Electrical Engineering degree in 1986. I have been building and maintaining my extended families computers since about 1996.
This entry was posted in Running a home business, Sparks Nevada computer repair and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Computer Repair Client

  1. Kiziah says:

    You can’t work for free. Tell your client what you think and your suggestions. If he or she agrees to paying more for digging deeper to the problem then great. You already give enough of you time for free.

  2. Kiziah says:

    It’s probably not a good way for your bank account to thrive…

  3. Paul Sturtevant says:

    Ya gotto do some business for free if it looks like it could help your reputation. We buy all out tires from the tire store downtown because they fixed the flat on my wheelbarrow for free.

Leave a Reply

