Advertising at the Rib Cookoff

On Friday, I made up some signs with “BlivitDesign.com Computers!” and my special logo, and I put them up in strategic locations at the “Best in the West Rib Cookoff”.  This is an annual Bacchanalia in Sparks where we pig out (!) on pork ribs, beer, corn on the cob, margaritas, and various other delights for about 5 days.

The signs stayed up for at least two days through Friday and Saturday.  I put up three signs and when I went back on Monday, there was one sign still up. (These were pretty cool signs so I would imagine people wanted to take them down for souvenirs.)

My Sign

This is the artwork for my sign

I have since heard that this years Rib Cookoff had a record crowd of half a million people.  The signs were out there where people could see them, but for some reason, it didn’t seem to generate any web traffic.

My next try is going to be putting up signs on the roadside in a Burma Shave manner.  (Oh yeah sure.  I bet EVERYONE remembers Burma Shave….)  I think I need to stress that the first half hour of computer service is FREE.

I guess no business takes off over night.  I do have another client waiting for me tomorrow morning.  I think he is another person that has no money though.

I had fun at the rib cookoff.  I was there twice on Friday, once on Saturday, and once on Monday.  Lots of good food  (and of course, Great Basin Beer http://www.greatbasinbrewingco.com).  I took some pictures with my phone camera.  Check them out at http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=71423&id=1630646763&l=1d4609f6d8.  My personal favorite was Butch’s on Friday at lunch time.  That was when the ribs were cooked to perfection.  I guess the winner this year was “Bone Daddy’s” but I never made it over to that place this time around.

I bet somebody took my signs down on Sunday morning.  I have no way of knowing.  One person emailed me and told me he saw one of my signs.  I have to write him back and find out when he was down there.

I’ll keep everybody posted (all of my many fans) as to how the advertising campaign is coming along.  This could take a while (what about flashing exploding signs?).  Maybe I could stand out on the street corner dancing and waving around a BlivitDesign sign huh?  Maybe I could get into shape doing that.  One thing I have to do is get some bigger signs, and get some car door magnets for both my and my wifes car.

Tomorrow, I’m off to teach my computer class again.  I’m going back to Gmail, because Hotmail locked so many people out before they could finish signing up. (three strikes and you’re out for a day).  As usual, I’ll keep you posted.

About whatisblivit

I have been working with computers since the Commodore Vic20. I've been building PC's since about 1989. I received my Electrical Engineering degree in 1986. I have been building and maintaining my extended families computers since about 1996.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Advertising at the Rib Cookoff

  1. Kiziah says:

    Maybe you could pay one of the grand kids to stand on the corner with the sign?

  2. Kiziah says:

    Yes, that might help too 🙂

Leave a Reply

