Career fair at the Hilton

On Monday, I got notice at Pronet (http://www.pronetreno.com/) that there was going to be a career fair at the Grand Sierra in Reno (http://grandsierraresort.com/). About the time I was getting ready to go, I got a phone call from a potential customer.  He wanted to know if I was the 20.00 flat rate guy (how can anybody work for that) and I told him no.  He told me his computer was infected and I told him that I could go there in the afternoon.  I told him that the first half hour was free, and that in that half hour I could at least tell him how much more it was going to take, or if it was worth fixing.

This put me late to the job fair.  I arrived at about 11:30 and it seemed like somebody must have told a few other people about this job fair.  There must have been 300 people in line in front of me.  I walked to the head of the line just to see how long it was.  I was mostly going there to network and let people know about Blivit Design so I started handing out business cards to the people who were waiting in line.  Once again, I’m networking with people who have no jobs and no money.  I had about 30 business cards in my pocket and I handed out those (with free computer advice for anyone who asked for it) and then went out to my car to get some more cards.

I got to my car and found maybe 30 more cards.  I didn’t really have time to go home, so I just got those 30 cards and about 20 of the fliers that I had made up to hand out around the neighborhood.  I decided to hand out the fliers first, so I started at the head of the line again.  The line had moved since I had gone out to the car so there were no repeats.  After I handed out all of the fliers and started in on the remainder of my business cards, some guy came out and told me “No soliciting in the hotel”.  I thanked him, and told him OK.  I walked around a corner and started in again of course.  After all, I only had about 20 cards left.  I’m pretty sure the way some people were taking the cards, they thought I was handing out coupons for free slurpies at 7-11 or something.  When people don’t speak English, it’s kind of hard for them to understand me talking about computers to them.

Well, it was fun and I did get a lot of cards handed out.  So far, the phone hasn’t rung.  I did call the guy who wanted me to work on his computer, and apparently he was able to get enough from our phone conversation to fix his own computer (or maybe the 20 dollar guy called him back).

I’ll keep you posted.

About whatisblivit

I have been working with computers since the Commodore Vic20. I've been building PC's since about 1989. I received my Electrical Engineering degree in 1986. I have been building and maintaining my extended families computers since about 1996.
This entry was posted in Marketing, Sparks Nevada computer repair and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Career fair at the Hilton

  1. Kiziah says:

    That’s a problem. Your too good at diagnosis that most will figure it out just from you walking them through it.

Leave a Reply

