Computer class in Reno (more)

I taught only 6 people yesterday.  Everybody kept up pretty well except one person in the back.  She just wasn’t into it.  I’m not sure what she expected out of the class, but she already had an email address and didn’t accept my “just treat it as an exercise” reason for being there.  I did get 5 people signed up.

Now the other teacher in the Sparks class is using my method of having them put their user name and password on a MS Word document before they attempt the email sign up on Google Mail.  This works so much better when it comes time to put their passwords in twice the same way when they can’t see the characters (you know, just ******** for a password).  Most people (usually me too) have problems typing in the “mystery word” at the end of the signup process that’s there to discourage “bots” from getting Gmail accounts.

This time, in addition to showing them how the computer can “see” the thumb drive on “My Computer” when you plug it in, I showed them how to save their “Word” document to their thumb drive.  I’ve been talking about them getting a thumb drive for every class, and this is the first time I’ve had a chance to show them how it is used.

I got 5 out of 6 students signed up (everybody who Wanted to sign up), and had them send me an email.  I replied to each one, and showed them the reply before they left.  I finished in the two hour allotted time.  I think I’m getting better at this “teaching” thing….

I had Daunine and Patrick helping me.  They did a good job of helping without running over my lecture.

About whatisblivit

I have been working with computers since the Commodore Vic20. I've been building PC's since about 1989. I received my Electrical Engineering degree in 1986. I have been building and maintaining my extended families computers since about 1996.
This entry was posted in Teaching Computers, Using online resources and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Computer class in Reno (more)

  1. Kiziah says:

    Practice makes perfect! Perhaps you will be my math Tudor next semester??

Leave a Reply

