Teaching Computers in Reno (10/13)

Yesterday I broke down and bought 10 USB Thumb drives.  In my computer class, I always tell my students that they need to get themselves a USB Thumb drive in order to save and transport their data from one computer to another.  Most of my students do not have a computer of their own, and in order to save things like Resume’s and cover letters to use in their job hunting activities, they need to have a method of saving them.

I’ve always thought that I was doing my students somewhat of a disservice by telling them they need to get a thumb drive, showing them what one looks like, but then not showing them how to use one.  Now that I’ve bought a bunch of them to use in class, I can actually show them how they are used.

The only drawback to using the thumb drives in class, is that we still must get through the material in the two hours allotted to the class, and now I have more material to cover.

Fortunately, we only had 4 students in class this Wednesday, so we were able to get them all through the material, complete with a working email address in the allotted time.

Once again, I would like to thank my most steadfast helper, Daunine Vining.  Without her help, it would be impossible to get the job done.  Dauning is a Commercial Interior Designer who is in the middle of taking an advanced AutoCAD class.  I’m just happy that she takes time off to help me teach the computer literacy class.

About whatisblivit

I have been working with computers since the Commodore Vic20. I've been building PC's since about 1989. I received my Electrical Engineering degree in 1986. I have been building and maintaining my extended families computers since about 1996.
This entry was posted in Sparks Nevada computer repair, Teaching Computers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Teaching Computers in Reno (10/13)

  1. John says:

    Glad to see you’re working hard at helping people become computer literate. Good job.

Leave a Reply

